March 16, 2023

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The University of Florida Athletic Association announced a $4.1 million renovation plan for James G. Pressly Stadium/Percy Beard Track on Wednesday afternoon to benefit the Gators men's and women's track teams, each the defending NCAA Outdoor National Champion.

The scope of the project includes a timing/officials building on the south end of the stands adjacent to the finish line and a permanent shade structure over the starting block. Additionally, public areas such as the restrooms and concessions will undergo renovations, along with waterproofing of the grandstand structure.

The project, which will be funded from private gifts, will begin in late April of 2023 with a projected completion date of early February of 2024.

"I am very excited for the renovation of our facilities and the opportunities it will present for both the fan and athlete experience at James G. Pressly Stadium and Percy Beard Track, said Gator track and field coach Mike Holloway.

Gator Athletics recently completed the third phase of its Master Facilities Plan with the crown jewel being the $85 million Bill Heavener Football Training Center. Since 2015, the UAA has invested more than $300 million in capital improvement projects and the next phase of the Master Facilities Plan will be announced at a later date.

"The Gator Track & Field program one of the most successful at the University of Florida. It is important that we continue to invest and improve their facilities to enhance the experience of our track and field student-athletes and the fans of the sport and program," said Athletics Director Scott Stricklin.

The contractor for the project is Parrish McCall while Level Architect is leading the design efforts.

The Gators will host the 2024 Southeastern Conference Championships and last hosted the event in 1989.

Florida Track and Field is arguably one of the most successful in the comprehensive athletic program capturing 13 national titles, 29 SEC Championships and producing 54 Olympians. All but one of those national team championships have come under the leadership of current head coach Mike Holloway, including three titles last year.

For the full article click here.